Municipal election ballots filling out

(Photo by Paul Pedro)

At least four municipalities in Essex County will have new mayors next term.

Amherstburg Mayor Aldo DiCarlo, Kingsville Mayor Nelson Santos, LaSalle Mayor Marc Bondy, and Pelee Island Mayor Ray Durocher have all announced they will not be running in the upcoming election.

Lakeshore Mayor Tom Bain has not declared whether or not he has decided to run. However, if he decides to go for another term he already has some competition. The current deputy mayor Tracey Bailey has filed her papers to run for the mayor’s seat.

In Essex, current Mayor Richard Meloche is putting his hat in the ring. He’s been in the role less than a year having taken over the position from Larry Snively who resigned in January of 2022. Sherry Bondy is also running for the mayor’s seat.

To date, Leamington Mayor Hilda MacDonald has no competition for the mayor’s seat. Deputy Mayor Larry Verbeke is also the only one running for his seat.

In the Town of Tecumseh, Mayor Gary McNamara will be running for mayor again. He’s held the position since 2003 and was acclaimed in the 2018 election. To date, no other candidates are vying for the position.

The race for the mayor’s seat in Amherstburg is already getting crowded. There are four candidates vying for the position so far, Frank Cerasa, John Lafromboise, Michael Prue, and Bob Rozankovic have submitted their nomination papers. Michael Prue is currently an Amherstburg councillor.

In the race for Kingsville mayor there are two familiar names. Councillor Laura Lucier is vying for the position along with Tamara Stomp who served 11 years on Kingsville council from 2003-2011.

In LaSalle, current Deputy Mayor Crystal Meloche has decided to run for the top seat. So far she does not have any competition.

Business owner Cathy Miller has declared her intentions to run for Mayor on Pelee Island.

The last day to file nomination papers is August 19, 2022. The municipal election is October 24, 2022.