City of Windsor ballots taking shape

Windsor City Hall, December 2019. (Photo by Maureen Revait)

People considering a run for municipal office have just over a month to file their paperwork.

In the City of Windsor, only one incumbent has declared their intentions to run in the October election.

Ward 7 Councillor Jeewen Gill has filed his papers to run again in Ward 7. He has been in the position since the by-election in 2020. The by-election was held to replace Irek Kusmierczyk who was elected in the federal election in 2019.

Gill faces Greg Lemay, Angelo Marignani, and Sydney Brouillard-Coyle who have also filed to run in Ward 7.

Ward 3 Councillor Rino Bortolin has announced he will not be running in the election. To date, there are no candidates running in Ward 3.

Ward 4 will also be without an incumbent because Chris Holt has filed papers to run for the mayor’s seat.

Ernie Lamont and Benjamin Danyluk are also on the ballot for the position of mayor. Windsor Mayor Drew Dilkens has not declared his intentions.

In Ward 4, Kristen Siapas, Patrick Sutherland, and Edy Haddad have filed papers to run for the seat on council.

There are currently no candidates running in Wards 2, 3, 8, or 10.

A full list of unofficial candidates can be found here.

The last day to file nomination papers is August 19, 2022. The municipal election is October 24, 2022.