Bulldogs win OHL Championship with 6-1 win over Spitfires

Avery Hayes of the Hamilton Bulldogs. Photo by Terry Wilson / OHL Images.

The Hamilton Bulldogs are the 2022 Ontario Hockey League (OHL) Champions after they defeated the Windsor Spitfires 6-1 on home ice Wednesday night.

Hamilton was first on the scoreboard just over two minutes into the first period with a goal by Mason McTavish. With no response from the Spits, the team headed into second trailing the Bulldogs 1-0.

Heading into second, Windsor slid further behind Hamilton. The Bulldogs scored again thanks to Avery Hayes, who gave Hamilton a 2-0 lead on the Spitfires ahead of the final period.

The Bulldogs struck again in the third when Hayes put another shot past Windsor goalie Mathia Onuska. Jan Mysak then made it 4-0 for Hamilton, before Windsor got on the board with a goal from Alex Christopoulos.

McTavish then scored Hamilton a fifth goal into an empty net, followed by another empty net goal by Hayes, giving him a hat trick.

This is the second OHL Championship win for the Bulldogs.

The Bulldogs will represent the OHL in the 102nd Memorial Cup championship, which goes from June 20-29 in Saint John, New Brunswick.