Sarnia-Lambton Sports HOF announces three 2022 award winners

Sarnia Lambton Sports Hall of Fame ( file photo)

The Sarnia-Lambton Sports Hall of Fame has announced the 2022 winners of three major awards ahead of its planned induction ceremony this fall.

Pete Thomas has won the Rose Hodgson Award for contributions to the community.

Thomas was a board member of United Way for a decade and was the organization’s volunteer of the year in 1994.

He has also served as a board member and treasurer with the Sarnia Girls Soccer Club, and is a recipient of the Women’s Interval Home Excellence of Service Award.

He has also coached soccer and curling and has been a special event committee member at the Sarnia Golf and Curling Club.

Cash McKinnon has won the Joe DeRush Memorial Award for athletes with physical disabilities. Cash, a 12-year-old with cerebral palsy, started playing sledge hockey in 2018, quickly gaining a reputation as a highly competitive performer. He has also taken part in cross country and challenger baseball events.

Emma Joris has won the Pappy Burr Award, which goes to outstanding students about to enter post secondary education.

She has excelled in everything from business to music programs and has been honoured for both academic and athletic excellence as well as for community involvement.

The Hall will hold its annual induction dinner ceremony Oct. 15 at Sarnia Golf and Curling Club.

Those being inducted into the Hall this year include Kelly Lynn Killoran, Krista DuChene, John Lynch, Murray Rempel, Denise Rempel, Barb Rigg Garbaty, Robert Round, Marion Round, Patricia Chalmers, Julia Greenshields and the 1994 Sarnia Braves senior baseball team.