Results in for Kettle & Stony Point First Nation double vote

Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point First Nation. 24 August 2020. ( photo by Melanie Irwin)

The results are in for the Kettle and Stony Point First Nation general election, and the decision on ratification of a historic land claim.

Jason Henry, was re-elected as chief by reserve members. Henry, who was challenged by former chief, Thomas Bressette and Kenneth Wolfe Junior, held his title with a total of 503 votes, Bressette followed with 344, Wolfe Junior came third with just 28 votes, and a total of 17 votes were rejected. Henry was first named chief during the 2018 general election.

Nine councilors were also elected.

Elizabeth Cloud, Larry “Vince” George, Marshall E. “Hook” George, Ronald “Spike” George, Lincoln Jackson, Carolin “Jane” Manning, Melissa “Chunk” Monague, Carmen Rogers Jr. and Kenneth R. Wolfe Junior will serve as band council members for two-year terms.

Members of Kettle and Stony Point also voted to ratify a federal government settlement offer 849 to 64, bringing a nearly 170-year-old First Nation land claim to a conclusion.

The Government of Canada has agreed to pay $35,728,354 as compensation for the misuse of funds from the sale of lands in 1853. The Aamjiwnaang First Nation, which already voted to ratify the agreement, will receive 52 per cent of the compensation, and the remainder of the funds will be allocated to Kettle and Stony Point.

-With files from Dave Dentinger