Christopher Plain re-elected as Aamjiwnaang Chief

Aamjiwnaang Office ( File Photo by Briana Carnegie)

Incumbent Christopher Plain will keep his seat as chief of Aamjiwnaang First Nation.

Christopher Plain won a three-way race for the top position in Friday’s election with 403 votes.

Along with Plain, nine councillors were elected to two year terms.

They are Joanne Rogers, Anthony “Tony” Jacobs, Darren Henry, Shawn Plain, Dallas Sinopole, June Simon, Mike Jackson, Tom Maness and Lareina Rising.

There were 19 candidates on the ballot for the nine council seats.

(Aamjiwnaang Election Results. Photo courtesy of @aamjiwnaangadministration)