St. Clair Conservation Authority awards three students with scholarships

St. Clair Conservation Authority on Mill Pond Crescent in Strathroy. November 4, 2018. (Photo by Colin Gowdy, BlackburnNews)

The St. Clair Conservation Authority awarded its 2020 scholarships to three graduating high school students.

The scholarship program rewards students who plan to pursue conservation-related post-secondary studies, who have demonstrated a high academic standing, as well as involvement in environmental initiatives.

A total of $2,000 was awarded across the St. Clair region this year.

SCRCA Chair, Joe Faas (left) presents Brady Grubb (right) with the A.W. Campbell Memorial Scholarship.

Brady Grubb from Lambton Kent Composite School in Dresden was awarded the 2020 A.W. Campbell Memorial Scholarship. Grubb has his sights set on a career in environmental engineering.

SCRCA Chair, Joe Faas (left) presents Trevor McBrayne (right) with the Tony Stranak Conservation Scholarship.

Trevor McBrayne, also from Lambton Kent Composite School received the Tony Stranak Conservation Scholarship. McBrayne plans to pursue a degree in landscape architecture.

Gracie Goodhill (left) receives the Mary Jo Arnold Conservation Scholarship from SCRCA Chair, Joe Faas (right)

Gracie Goodhill from North Lambton Secondary School was awarded the Mary Jo Arnold Conservation Scholarship. Goodhill is set to begin her studies in a food and agriculture program.

All three award recipients will be attending the University of Guelph this fall.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, students were presented with their awards by SCRCA Chair, Joe Faas at their residences. “Although our presentations looked a little differently this year, it was such a delight to celebrate the recipients of the St. Clair Region Conservation Authority scholarships,” said Faas in a written statement. “We are happy to provide support to them as they pursue their post-secondary studies in the environmental field.”

The scholarships are made possible through the help of donors, and trust funds established by the St. Clair Region Conservation Foundation.