Mayor Napper announces Plympton-Wyoming appreciation awards

Plympton-Wyoming Mayor Lonny Napper

Plympton-Wyoming Mayor Lonny Napper has announced the recipients of his annual Community Appreciation Awards.

Seventeen groups and individuals will be honoured during a luncheon on February 1 at noon at the Camlachie Community Centre.

Everyone is welcome to attend. The cost is a donation toward Miracle Max’s Minions.

Tickets are available in advance only until January 28 by calling the Municipal Office at 519-845-3939.

Here’s a full list of winners:

  • Camlachie District Fire Chief Scott Jordan – for 40 years of fire service to the Plympton-Wyoming community as a Firefighter, Captain, Deputy Fire Chief of the Camlachie Fire Department. And Camlachie District (Deputy) Fire Chief of the Plympton-Wyoming Fire Department
  • LEO – Lambton Elderly Outreach – in honour of their 50th Anniversary
  • Southwest Regional Credit Union – Wyoming Branch – in celebration of the 80 years of service
  • Broadway Service – in recognition of 40 years – servicing the community with their automotive expertise
  • Frank Feenstra – 62 years – Franks Window Cleaning Service with a smile
  • George Rosema – for utilizing fantastic photography skills capturing the diverse Plympton-Wyoming landscapes for all to enjoy
  • Harry James in recognition of his historic token project with Mel Kyle – finishing this project and producing a book that resides for all to enjoy at the Lambton County Archives
  • Wyoming Lionesses – In recognition of serving Wyoming for over 40 years – honouring 3 charter members – Linda Reid, Lois Wakefield and Judy Williamson
  • Wyoming Tree Service – For their generous donation of staff and equipment to assist with the decorating of the Wyoming Christmas Tree & to recognize 3 of their employees Colin and Luke and Logan for their heroic actions earlier this year
  • Starlight Rebekah Lodge Wyoming – Serving Wyoming since 1948
  • Helen Ahrens
  • Janet Atkinson
  • Myrtle Hull
  • Linda Kuchroug
  • Mary-Beth Larocque
  • Lois Maclachlan
  • Jane Morgan
  • Kathy Trounce
  • Gayle Vaness
  • Joyce Lenzo
  • Linda Gryner – on becoming President of IODE Ontario; a service organization celebrating 100 years this year
  • James Gryner – in honour of his publishing a children’s book 30 years in the making
  • Model Lodge 147 – Wyoming – honouring long term members Tom O’Brien (68 years) Don Minielly (68 years) Murray Smith (65 years) Gerald Helps (65 years)
  • Paul Marley Pharmacy – established in 1947 by Leonard Marley until 1962 when Paul Marley began his career and today Michael Gad continues to provide wonderful service to the residents of Plympton-Wyoming
  • Tyler Whitbread – former Camlachie Minor Ball player who played for Team Canada
  • Noah Myers – former Wyoming Minor Ball player drafted by the Toronto Blue Jays
  • Brian Schoonjans and Family – for continuing to represent those individuals that step up to help out those in need and for providing an amazing sunflower venue that many enjoyed and will remember for years to come!