Major Ontario cabinet shuffle, McNaughton new labour minister

MPP McNaughton speaks at the Ontario Legislature, February 25, 2015. (Photo courtesy of the Ontario Legislature via YouTube)

A major shuffle of Ontario Premier Doug Ford’s cabinet includes Lambton-Kent-Middlesex MPP Monte McNaughton.

McNaughton and Laurie Scott have swapped portfolios with McNaughton becoming labour minister and Scott moving into infrastructure.

With his popularity failing just over a year after winning a majority government, Ford has demoted several high-profile ministers including Vic Fedeli who gives up his finance ministry portfolio to Rod Phillips.

Fedeli becomes minister of economic development.

Lisa Thompson leaves education for government and consumer services. Lisa MacLeod, who has taken heat over the autism file, is out as minister of children, community and social services and takes on tourism, culture and sport.

Stephen Lecce is the new education minister and Todd Smith takes over children, community and social services.

Doug Downey is Ontario’s new attorney general and Caroline Mulroney is demoted to transportation and francophone affairs.

Christine Elliott remains deputy premier and minister of health.

Ontario’s new cabinet:

  • Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs – Doug Ford
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Health – Christine Elliott
  • Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Michael Tibollo
  • Minister of Long-Term Care – Merrilee Fullerton
  • Minister of Finance – Rod Phillips
  • Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade and Chair of Cabinet – Vic Fedeli
  • Associate Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction – Prabmeet Sarkaria
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing – Steve Clark
  • Solicitor General – Sylvia Jones
  • Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks – Jeff Yurek
  • Minister of Children, Community and Social Services – Todd Smith
  • Associate Minister of Children and Women’s Issues – Jill Dunlop
  • Minister of Labour – Monte McNaughton
  • Attorney General – Doug Downey
  • Minister of Transportation and Minister of Francophone Affairs – Caroline Mulroney
  • Associate Minister of Transportation (GTA) – Kinga Surma
  • Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities – Ross Romano
  • Minister of Education – Stephen Lecce
  • President of the Treasury Board – Peter Bethlenfalvy
  • Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry – John Yakabuski
  • Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs – Greg Rickford
  • Associate Minister of Energy – Bill Walker
  • Minister for Seniors and Accessibility – Raymond Cho
  • Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs – Ernie Hardeman
  • Minister of Infrastructure – Laurie Scott
  • Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport – Lisa MacLeod
  • Minister of Government and Consumer Services – Lisa Thompson
  • Government House Leader – Paul Calandra