Plympton-Wyoming mayor announces community appreciation list

Plympton-Wyoming Mayor Lonny Napper

Plympton-Wyoming Mayor Lonny Napper has announced the recipients of the 2018 Mayor’s Community Appreciation Awards.

The honour is being given to the following organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to the town.

  • Sam’s Restaurant – Jim and Maria Karamboulas
    Jim and Maria served the finest breakfast, lunch and dinners in Lambton County for over 27 years. We wish them well in their retirement and we will surely miss their friendship.
  • A Village Fireplace – Tina and Wayne Neville
    Congratulations to Tina and Wayne on 25 successful years of business in the Town of Plympton-Wyoming.
  • Jo-Ann Thorne
    Jo-Ann is a local resident, a cheery employee of Wyoming Foodland and the President of Sarnia Street Machines. The organization has raised over $200,000.00 for Pathways and was recently inducted into the Canadian Street Rodding Hall of Fame. Congratulations on a job well done!
  • Dr. Joan Ross
    Dr. Ross has been a resident of Camlachie for over 10 years and has practiced as a general surgeon for 22 years in Sarnia. The mother of 2 children spent 2 weeks abroad an African based Mercy Ship, a floating hospital where she volunteered her talents as a surgeon to treat patients. Upon her return, Dr. Ross has been a spokesperson for Mercy Ships and as an artist, has donated proceeds from her work to this cause. Thank you for your compassion and generosity!
  • Brian Schoonjans Family
    In recognition of Brian and his families work to memorialize a close and dear friend Wesley Ferguson by crafting a pumpkin patch with all proceeds supporting the Wesley Ferguson
    Memorial Fund. With the help of many friends and a successful pumpkin season, it was an overwhelming success! A great example of honouring someone special, while giving to a
    great cause.
  • Dr. Firas Al-Dhahar, Dr. John Butler, Dr. Enoch Daniel & Dr. Angela Wang
    I would like to recognize these doctors for their compassion and devotion to their patients and further, for receiving the Fellowship in Family Medicine designation from the College of
    Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC). We are very fortunate to have this caliber of doctors in our community. We wouldn’t be where we are today without your outstanding efforts. We
    are forever grateful!
  • Camlachie Athletic Association
    In appreciation to their dedication to the youth of the community and the many hours they dedicate to upgrading the parks. Well done!
  • Jason Cates
    Jason and his custom built “Rollinator” is one of 3 finalists in the Princess Auto Canada wide contest and is one step closer to the title of The Ultimate Figure-it-Outer. Congratulations
    and good luck Jason. We are all cheering for you!
  • Aaron Cooper
    I chose Aaron for his accomplishment of winning the YMCA-CHOK International Bridge Race but soon realized that this young man at 32 was Camlachie’s best kept secret. He is currently ranked #3 in Canada. He has goals set on 2019 World Championship in Doha, Qatar and the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. Aaron was a member of the Errol Village Cross
    Country team and his incredible success will serve as a wonderful example for students to follow.
  • Collin Boyd
    A grade 12 student at LCCVI that lives in Wyoming took advantage of the Summer Company Program sponsored by Sarnia Lambton Economic Program and the Ministry of Economic Development and began his own business following in his Grandfather’s footsteps. Collin started growing vegetables and selling them at roadside stands. He added his own touch by offering delivery, advice about his produce, and along with his Grandmother, offered courses on how to freeze corn – a bit of a lost art in modern times. He celebrated a successful year with a Collins Corny Corn fest in September. Well done Collin. A good example of our youth in action!
  • Wyoming Lions Club – Long Term Volunteers – Over 40 Years
    Dave Armstrong – 50 years
    Gerald Helps – 50 years
    Trevor Hall – 50 years
    Bob Hext – 40 years
    Murray Marsh – 40 years
    Lyle Huether – 40 years
    John Stewart – 40 years
    Harry Boers – 40 years
    Jack Dupee – 40 years
    Jim Kearns – 40 years
    Andy Maruscak – 40 years
  • Huron Shores Optimist – All charter members with over 40 years and still active
    Charles Barclay
    Ted Haight
    John Jones
    Steve Kelch
    Jack McEwen
    Bill Nowasad
    Kenneth Pembleton
    Richard Somerville
    Adrian Verwegen
  • Plympton-Wyoming Fire Departments
    Allan Scott – Wyoming Station – 40 years
    Ron Vanderburgt – Wyoming Station – 30 years
  • Town of Plympton-Wyoming
    Wayne Ramsay – For his years of service with the Plympton-Wyoming Public Cemetery
    Committee, Plympton-Wyoming Agricultural Society and the Plympton-Wyoming Fire
    Don Nelson – For his 25 + years of service as a Councillor
    Ben Dekker – for his 18 years of service as a Councillor
    Bob Burnley – 37 years of service in the roads department
    Dave Minielly – 31 years of service in the roads department

The winners are being honoured at a noon luncheon on February 2 at the Camlachie Community Centre.

Everyone is welcome to attend, and the cost is a donation to the Camlachie Athletic Association.

Tickets are available in advance only until January 31 by calling the municipal office at 519-845-3939.