Around The County

Lambton Shores new Deputy Mayor Doug Cook with Mayor Bill Weber ( photo by Jake Jeffrey)

Bill Weber remains Mayor of Lambton Shores after Monday’s municipal election.

He defeated his nearest opponent John Russell by over 950 votes with Elizabeth Davis-Dagg finishing third.

In the Village of Pt.Edward there’s two new faces on council. Larry Gordon and Paul Burgess join incumbents Bev Hand and Janice Robson.

Mayor Larry MacKenzie has been acclaimed.

Ian Veen has been re-elected Mayor in Oil Springs. Six councillors were running for four seats on council. Andrea Burns-Antoine and Matt Strangway join incumbents Rick Powell and Larry Wagner.

There was over 36 per cent voter turnout in St.Clair Township.

A total of 3,157 mail-in votes were cast of 8,649 possible electors.

Incumbents Jim DeGurse and Jeff Agar have been re-elected along with newcomer Tracy Kingston.

Don McGugan was re-elected Mayor for Brooke-Alvinston, defeating Jamie Armstrong by 207 votes.

Incumbents Frank Nemcek, Ken Alderman and Jim Hayter will return to council and will be joined by newcomer Jeannette Douglas.