PJHL Pollock Division Hands Out Season Awards

The list is out.

The award winners for the PJHL Pollock Division 2017-18 season have been released, and it’s a great collection from around the division. This year’s MVP is Blair Butchart of the Mount Forest Patriots, who finished the year with 23 goals and a whopping 56 assists to finish with 79 points, a new team record, and also the league leader in scoring. All those helpers aided his team mate Klayton Hoelscher in breaking the team record for goals in a season with 42.

The Defenseman of the Year is Wingham’s Carter Collinson, who led all D in scoring with 40 points, including an impressive 27 on the power play. Collinson was a big reason that the Ironmen boosted their goal total from a division worst 87 last year, to the 3rd most this season a 158.

Most Sportsmanlike Player for 2017-18 is Chase Meurs, the impressive forward from the Goderich Flyers. Chase had a great year putting up 37 points, to go alongside just 22 PIMs, contributing to Goderich having the fewest PIMs in the division with just 739 as a team.

Rookie of the Year went to young goaltender Matthew Donnelly of the Walkerton Hawks, who stepped in as a 17-year-old and went 13-2-1 with an .895 save percentage and a sterling 2.71 GAA, extremely impressive numbers for a goalie his age.

The Coach of the Year went to Kincardine’s Shawn Burrows, after leading the Bulldogs to a 3rd place finish, and allowing a division low 103 goals against. Burrows stable and calm approach behind the bench helped the Bulldogs set the mark for defensive excellence this season.

Last but definitely not least, the Goaltender of the Year award went to the Kincardine Bulldogs crease that featured Craig Luinstra and Ethan Primeau. Luinstra went 15-10-1 with 2 shutouts, a .907 save percentage and a 2.78 GAA, while Primeau put up a 8-5-1 record with 3 shutouts, a .927 save percentage and an excellent GAA of just 2.06.

Congrats to all the winners on great seasons.