Attack Name Friend, Suzuki And Gadjovich Captains For 2017-18

The Owen Sound Attack have selected their leadership core for the 2017-18 campaign.

The team announced yesterday that Jacob Friend will be the 22nd captain in franchise history, as Head Coach Todd Gill made the selection. Friend is entering his 3rd full season in Owen Sound, and the defender has suited up for 105 games, posting 6 goals and 27 assists, and playing a number of roles on the Attack blueline. Friend was signed as a free agent in the 2014-15 season, and was drafted 202nd overall by Los Angeles in the 7th round of the 2016 NHL Draft.

The assistant captains this year will be veteran forwards Nick Suzuki and Jonah Gadjovich. Suzuki, a former 1st round selection by the Attack in 2015 at 14th overall, finished 5th in OHL scoring last year with 96 points, and provides a steady two-way force for the Attack. He was taken by the Vegas Golden Knights in this past summer’s NHL Draft, going 13th overall. in 128 career OHL games, Suzuki has 65 goals and 69 assists.

Gadjovich, a former 2nd round selection by the Attack in 2014, is entering his fourth OHL campaign. He was taken by Vancouver in this year’s NHL draft, going in the 2nd round, 55th overall. In 186 career OHL games, Gadjovich has 107 points, and his 46 goals last year were good for 3rd overall in the OHL.

A full list of former Attack captains can be seen here:

Santino Centorame: 2015-2017
Zach Nastasiuk: 2013-2015
Keevin Cutting: 2012-2013
Michael Halmo: 2011-2012
Garrett Wilson: 2010-2011
Marcus Carroll: 2009-2010
David Kolomatis: 2007-2009
Scott Tregunna: 2007
Bobby Ryan: 2005-2007
Patrick Jarrett: 2002-2005
Michael Jacobsen: 2001-2002
Kyle McAllister: 2000-2001
Dave Stephenson: 2000
Wes Goldie: 1999-2000
Dan Synder: 1997-1999
Kurt Walsh: 1996-1997
Jason Campbell: 1995-1996
Jeff Kostuch: 1993-1995
Rick Morton: 1992-1993
Kirk Maltby: 1991-1992
Mike Speer: 1989-1991