Grey Bruce OPP officer named “Officer of the Year”

L-R: Acting OPP Inspector Debra Anderson, Provincial Constable Nick Wilson, Lynn Silverton, Grey Highlands Police Services Board Chair and Grey Highlands Mayor Paul McQueen at the presentation to PC Wilson honouring him as the "Officer of the Year" for Grey Highlands. June 4th, 2021 (Provided by Derek Rogers - Regional Media Relations Coordinator, OPP)

A member of the Grey Bruce OPP was recently named “Officer of the Year” by the Municipality of Grey Highlands.

During a ceremony on June 4th, Provincial Constable Nick Wilson of the Grey Bruce OPP Detachment was presented the honour from Grey Highlands Mayor Paul McQueen and the Chair of the Grey Highlands Police Services Board, Lynn Silverton. The release states that “Wilson was recognized for his longstanding commitment to serving the public, which began when he was an OPP Auxiliary member in 2017, when he was presented with the James Keirstead Award for dedicating over 2000 hours of volunteer service to the community.”

PC Wilson is now the detachment’s Community Engagement and Safety officer, and conducts cold water rescue and fire safety presentations, as well as drug and alcohol awareness presentations at local schools. He also gives time to local seniors by teaching them about fraud safety and maintains an active role in the Grey Bruce Immigration Partnership Committee.

“Nick is very deserving of this recognition. He’s a very committed officer, whether it’s in his role a School Resource Officer in Grey Highlands, or other community service events, he always does his best.” – Acting Inspector Debra Anderson (Interim OPP Grey Bruce Detachment Commander).

“On behalf of the Municipality of Grey Highlands, I congratulate PC Wilson on his award. Grey Highlands is a progressive municipality and PC Wilson is a progressive-thinking officer” – Paul McQueen, Mayor of Grey Highlands.

“I’m happy that we could present this award to PC Nick Wilson. He’s a good fit for the Municipality of Grey Highlands” – Lynn Silverton, Grey Highlands Police Services Board Chair.