File photo courtesy of © Can Stock Photo / Gajus

Midwestern Ontario municipal voting underway

Voting is underway in a number of municipalities in midwestern Ontario as residents select their local community leaders for the next four years.

Residents can start to submit their choices in municipalities holding telephone, internet, or mail-in voting.

Voting kicked off in communities like Bluewater, Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh, South Huron, Central Huron, Goderich Morris-Turnberry and North Huron Thursday morning.

People in Owen Sound, Saugeen Shores, Perth East, West Grey, Georgian Bluffs, Grey Highlands and Hanover can cast their ballots starting Friday morning.

In Huron Kinloss, Kincardine, West Perth, South Bruce, North Bruce Peninsula and Brockton, residents can cast ballots starting on Monday.

Howick is also using internet and telephone voting.

North Perth is using composite ballots, and there are advance polls in Listowel and Elma this Saturday.

Wellington North, Minto, Mapleton, Chatsworth, Arran-Elderslie and South Bruce Peninsula will hold voting by mail.

Election day is October 22.