Province announces 8 new Ontario Health Teams, including Grey-Bruce

Grey-Bruce Ontario Health Team logo. (Provided by Victoria Cumming, Executive Assistant to the President/CEO, Hanover & District Hospital)

Ontario unveiled 8 new Ontario Health Teams today, including in Grey-Bruce.

In a release, the province announced the newly approved group of OHTs that were initially established as part of Doug Ford’s government’s plan to “end hallway healthcare” back in 2019. The province is providing 9.9 million dollars to be split among the 8 new teams over the next two fiscal years to help them “seamlessly coordinate health care services for patients and ensure the province’s health care system can respond to any scenario as the COVID-19 pandemic continues to evolve.”

The Grey-Bruce Ontario Health Team will now be responsible for “bringing together health care providers as one collaborative team. Working together, they will ensure that patients experience easier transitions with one patient story, one patient record and one care plan that is shared between the health care providers.” The province says in the release that with these new 8 teams, there are now 50 OHTs throughout the province which covers 92 percent of the population.

The new 8 OHTs are as follows:

  • Hastings Prince Edward OHT in Hastings and Prince Edward Counties;
  • Upper Canada, Cornwall and Area OHT in the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, City of Cornwall, Akwesasne, parts of Russell Township and rural Southeast Ottawa;
  • Four Rivers OHT in North Grenville, West Ottawa, Northern Lanark County, and Arnprior, McNab and Braeside;
  • Network 24 OHT in the majority of Renfrew County and the Township of South Algonquin in Nipissing District;
  • Grey-Bruce OHT in Grey and Bruce Counties;
  • Barrie and Area OHT in Barrie and surrounding areas;
  • Elgin OHT in Elgin County; and
  • North Simcoe OHT in Midland, Penetanguishene, Tiny and Tay Townships, and Christian Island.