County to lower all flags to honour Indigenous community

Bruce County Logo

Bruce County will lower flags at their facilities on July 1 to honour and pay respect to the Indigenous children being discovered at residential schools, their families, and their communities.

The Bruce County municipalities of Arran-Elderslie, Brockton, South Bruce, Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine, Saugeen Shores, South Bruce Peninsula, and Northern Bruce Peninsula continue to stand united in expressing the deepest of condolences to Indigenous families and communities in the Bruce County region and across Canada.

“Bruce County acknowledges the devastating legacy that residential schools has had on almost every Indigenous family,” says Bruce County Warden Janice Jackson, “as a community, we must stand together to acknowledge these truths of the past and present, and support reconciliation efforts.”

A media release from the county concludes, “As we reflect, learn, and listen, may we honour the lives of these children and never forget their stories.”