Remarkable Citizens in Huron-Bruce

Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson (far left) with the 2018 Remarkable Citizens Award winners in the Teeswater Town Hall theatre, January 16th, 2019 (Photo by Ryan Drury)

Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson hosted her annual Remarkable Citizens awards Wednesday night in Teeswater.

The event, which was held in the town hall theatre on Main Street, filled the hall as the community celebrated 23 great community activists.

Thompson said acknowledging those people is very important.

“What better way to kick off a new year than to celebrate the achievements and efforts that people have put into their communities over the past year, and tonight we honoured 23 individuals, and what beautiful stories they had,” she said.

Thompson said it’s great to see people from all over the riding come and show their support for the winners.

“Not only are they being recognized but there are people here to share in that celebration with them, and that sends the message that the hours and efforts that they put in, the gift of their time, if you will, really matters back home,” she said.

The evening concluded with a special posthumous award for Teeswater native Steve Millen, who Thompson said was very special.

“He’s a perfect example to show that it doesn’t matter how old you are or what your lot in life leads you to pursue, you can make a difference if you care, and that’s what Steve epitomized,” she added.

With Millen’s family present, Thompson said it was incredible to be able to honour Steve, who passed away this past November.

The list of award winners includes:
Bob Rowe (Hensall)
Brent McKague (Teeswater)
Brian McGavin (Walton)
Christopher Pennington (Kincardine)
Darian Murray (Lucknow)
Dave McDonald (Teeswater)
Doug Kuyvenhoven (Wingham)
Keith and Gail VanderHoek (Ripley)
Jane Hoy (Dungannon)
Joan Vincent (Wingham)
John Leppington (Clinton)
Joyce Johnston (Bluevale)
Judith Bond (Kincardine)
Lorri Anne Moore (Seaforth)
Margaret Sutherland (South Huron)
Patti Hutton (Tiverton)
Phyllis Ireland (Teeswater)
Robert Beuttenmiller (Seaforth)
Shannon McGlynn (Teeswater)
Shannon Wood (Mildmay)
Tom Melady (Seaforth)
Steve Millen (Teeswater)

Lisa Thompson addresses the packed Teeswater Town Hall theatre at her 7th annual Remarkable Citizens awards event. January 16th, 2019 (Photo by Ryan Drury)

Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson poses in front of the Remarkable Citizens awards banner at the 7th annual awards event she hosts in the Teeswater Town Hall theatre. January 16th 2019 (Photo by Ryan Drury)