Cubs Win World Series

David Ross and Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs celebrate winning the 2016 World Series. Photo by Jeff Teolis, Blackburn Radio

For the first time since 1908, the Chicago Cubs are World Series champions.

The Cubs overcame a blown lead in the 8th inning to beat Cleveland 8-7 in 10 innings on Wednesday.

Dexter Fowler gave the Cubs an early lead with a lead-off home run in the top of the first inning. The Indians tied it up in the third when Coco Crisp scored after a single from Carlos Santana.

The Cubs were back on top in the fourth after Kris Bryant scored on Addison Russell’s sacrifice fly ball to center field. Then Wilson Contreras doubled off the wall to bring home Ben Zobrist upping the Cubs lead to 3-1.

Chicago added another two runs at the top of the fifth with a home run from Javier Baez and and Anthony Rizzo RBI double, making the score 5-1. However, the Indians made it 5-3 after Santana and Kipnis scored thanks to a wild pitch by Jon Lester.

Playing in his final game before retiring, David Ross homered in the sixth to give the Cubs a 6-3 lead.

That lead seemed to be in good hands as Cubs manager Joe Madden went to his closer, Aroldis Chapman, with two outs in the 8th inning.

But after Brandon Guyer make the score 6-4 with an RBI double, Rajai Davis stepped to the plate.

(story continues below)

Davis’ two-run home run off Chapman tied the game at 6-6 and sent the home crowd into a frenzy.

After a scoreless 9th inning, Game 7 was headed for extra innings. However, Mother Nature decided that the 10th inning would have to wait and the grounds crew brought the tarp on the field as the rain that was falling was expected to get heavier.

A 17-minute rain delay gave way to the top of the 10th inning, where Chicago’s Ben Zobrist doubled to bring in Albert Amora Jr. and give the Cubs a 7-6 lead. Miguel Montero’s RBI single made it 8-6.

But Cleveland would not go quietly in the bottom of the 10th.

Brandon Guyer walked, took second base on defensive indifference, then scored when Rajai Davis singled. But that would be the final run of the Indians’ season, as Michael Martinez grounded out for the final out of the game.

“It was like a heavyweight fight, man,” Zobrist, who was named World Series MVP, told “Just blow for blow, everybody playing their heart out. The Indians never gave up either, and I can’t believe we’re finally standing, after 108 years, finally able to hoist the trophy.”

The World Series win capped off a 103-win season for the Cubs. It also made them the first team since the 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates to come back from a three games to one deficit and win Games 6 and 7 on the road.