Doug Ford at his second rally in London. May 30, 2018. (Photo by Sarah Cowan Blackburn News Chatham-Kent).

Doug Ford’s Ontario PCs To Form Majority Government

For the first time in 15 years, Ontario residents have elected the Progressive Conservative Party as the province’s governing party.

With the Tories win in the provincial election on Thursday, Doug Ford will become the next premier of Ontario with a majority government.

“This victory belongs to the people, and tonight the people of Ontario have spoken,” said Ford during his victory speech to supporters. “The party with the taxpayers’ money is over.”

In his speech, Ford also promised to work to win over those who did not vote for him.

“I promised to deliver a strong, stable majority government and together we did that,” he said. “Together we made history. We have taken back Ontario, we have delivered a government that is for the people.”

The New Democratic Party of Ontario under Andrea Horwath will form the opposition party.  While not a victory, the NDP has moved from the third tier party to hold the most seats since the provincial election in 1990.

The Green Party of Ontario also achieved a milestone for their party by crowning its first MPP. Green Party Leader Mike Schreiner has been elected the MPP in the riding of Guelph.

The Liberals, who have been the governing party for the last 15 years, could lose official party status if their number of seats at Queens Park drops below eight. While the number of Liberal seats has yet to be determined, current Premier Kathleen Wynne has announced that she is resigning as party leader.

She said it was “a difficult night.”

“I have spoken to the party president and asked him to start the process of choosing an interim leader, and it is the right thing to do. There is another generation and I am passing the torch to that generation,” a visibly emotional Wynne said to her supporters following the election.

Wynne conceded the election last weekend and said her party would lose the election. However, she urged voters to vote Liberals in an effort to prevent the other two parties from forming a majority government.