Graduates receive 2020 Chatham Sports Hall of Fame bursary

Recipients of the 2020 Chatham Sports Hall of Fame bursary. Jessica Devis (left), Connor Van Minnen, Tamara Jack, and Kyle Wammes. (Photo courtesy of Marc Poirier).

The COVID-19 pandemic may have put a damper to the year for graduating high school students, however, a select few are leaving with more than a diploma.

The Chatham Sports Hall of Fame announced the 2020 bursary winners on Friday.

The recipients include Jessica Davis of Chatham-Kent Secondary School, Connor Van Minnen of Chatham Christian High School, Tamara Jack of John McGregor Secondary School, and Kyle Wammes of Ursuline College Chatham.

Each of the 2020 recipients received a $300 bursary.

“The Board of Directors of the Hall of Fame congratulates all the winners as chosen by their respective schools and wishes them well in their future endeavours,” read a release signed by Chairman Tom Hardie.

For the past 17 years, the Chatham Sports Hall of Fame has presented a bursary to a graduating student at a secondary school in Chatham. Winners are chosen based on their athletic contributions, whether it be in coaching, managing, scoring, timing, fundraising, or improving the school’s athletic program.