CKHA Has New Board Of Directors

The main entrance sign at the Chatham-Kent Health Alliance. (File photo by Jake Kislinsky)

The Chatham-Kent Health Alliance (CKHA) has assembled a new board of directors to govern both hospital sites in Chatham and Wallaceburg.

The new board includes 12 directors from across Chatham-Kent — one from each of the six wards, one from the First Nations community, and five others.

“I am impressed with the caliber and skills of the individuals from across Chatham-Kent who are willing to step up and volunteer their time and expertise to serve on the board of directors,” said Supervisor Rob Devitt in a media release. “I am pleased with the way this group fills the range of skills we were looking for and reflect the geography and rural and urban communities that our organizations serves.”

The newly appointed directors will start to transition into their governance roles in April. In the meantime, they will be going through an orientation process.

The following Chatham-Kent residents have been chosen for the board:

Greg Aarssen (Wallaceburg) – Entrepreneur, investor, and farmer.

Kathryn Biondi (Rural Chatham-Kent) – Part of the Essex-Kent-Lambton Grant Review Team for the Ontario Trillium Foundation and is a board member for the Chatham-Kent Police Services Board.

Robert Dye (Ridgetown) – Retiree who is a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario and chair of the Chatham-Kent Strategic Priority Advisory Committee.

Brian Glover (Wallaceburg) – Investment advisor for National Bank Financial.

Deborah Hook – Executive director for Community Living Wallaceburg. She is also currently a director with the YMCA’s of Southwestern Ontario, and chair of the Governance Committee.

Rita Mezei (Chatham) – Executive director for the Canadian Centre for Healthcare Facilities.

Dan Miskokomon (Walpole Island) РChief for Bkejwanong Territory/Walpole Island First Nation.

Geetu Pathak РSits on the Board of Directors for the Toronto International Film Festival, where she chairs the audit committee. She is also a member of the Board of Directors of Ryerson University.

Sharon Pfaff (Erieau) – Retiree who has held senior roles at Cancer Care Ontario.

Mark Richards (North Kent) – Farmer who serves as the vice chairman of the Agriculture Credit Corporation.

April Rietdyk – General manager, community human services/CEO for the Chatham-Kent Public Health.

Betty Schepens (Wallaceburg) – Program manager for the Chatham-Kent Public Health Unit.