Area MP Named Caucus Chair

The MP for Chatham-Kent-Essex will act as the liaison to the prime minister on pressing issues stretching from Windsor to Niagara Falls.

Dave Van Kesteren has been named chair of the Southwest Ontario Caucus by Stephen Harper. “There’s a number of caucus’ within the greater caucus,” says Van Kesteren. “What takes place is dialogue and communication so when we move forward with the Conservative Party, when we enact bills, when we talk about new legislation, all of that is discussed. That, and of course, any concerns that we might have.”

Van Kesteren says whatever is talked about within the various caucus’ remains private. The caucus is made up of 17 MP’s across the region that meet once-a-week when parliament is sitting in Ottawa.

The area MP also serves on the federal government’s finance committee and says he’s been asked to serve on the industry committee once again.