Chair claimed at Ontario Pork Board of Directors

John de Bruyn, Chair of the Ontario Pork Board of Directors. (Submitted image)

The Ontario Pork Board of Directors says John de Bruyn will continue as the Chair for the next term.

Maaike Campbell will serve as Vice-Chair.

De Bruyn is a producer from Oxford County, and Campbell is a producer from Lambton County.

Both were acclaimed to their respective roles at a board meeting held on Tuesday.

De Bruyn was first elected to his role in 2021 and both have worked closely with board members and producers as the industry has continued to navigate the COVID-19 pandemic while planning for the sector’s immediate and longer-term needs.

Perth County producer Doug Ahrens completed his term on March 23 after serving as a director for 13 years. Tanya Terpstra, a pork producer and delegate from Perth County was acclaimed as a new Board member representing Zone 2.

De Bruyn says he looks forward to continuing to work with the board and representing producers as they chart a course for the future of the Ontario pork industry. That includes research, policy, consumer education, and international trade.