Four Classes Of Wheat To Be Eliminated

The Canadian Grain Commission says four wheat classes will disappear on July 1st.

The classes will all be replaced by contract production. The change was recommended by the Eastern Standards Committee, and that they will reduce grain-handling costs because they will no longer be segregated into the four wheat categories.

Canada Eastern Red, Hard White Winter, Hard White Spring and Soft White Spring will disappear.

Producers will still be able to grow the varieties assigned to these classes, and deliver them to the Canada Eastern Other Wheat class.