File photo courtesy of © Can Stock Photo Inc. / ClickImages

Two Midwestern Ontario Players Lead Clarkson to National Championship Victory

A pair of skaters from Midwestern Ontario led the Clarkson University Women’s hockey team to win the 2017 Frozen Four title.

Owen Sound’s Shea Tiley backstopped the NCAA’s Golden Knights to a 3-0 shut out of Wisconsin to win their second National Championship in four years. Tiley stopped all 41 shots she faced.

Cayley Mercer of Exeter was named the MVP for the 2017 Frozen Four, scoring two of the Golden Knights goals and firing eight shots on net. The Clarkson co-captain was also a Top 3 Finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

The Golden Knights were out shot 41-20 in the win.